TSG Hoffenheim as a Technological Trailblazer

A Pioneer in Digital Technologies

Technology is decisive – this is true both for the soccer stars of TSG Hoffenheim and the high-quality alloy wheels made by RIAL, which is sponsoring the club as an Official Business Team Partner starting in the current 2019-20 Bundesliga season. This text does not describe the elegant ball control of the soccer experts from the Kraichgau region, however, but two particularly exciting digital technologies in Hoffenheim’s soccer project: SAP Interactive Data Space and the Helix Arena.

The SAP Interactive Data Space at the TSG training grounds in Zuzenhausen collects all data relevant to TSG Hoffenheim’s sport and business activities – allowing it to be instantly analyzed in a unique collaboration space by the club’s management, coaches, and players. The 16 seats at the interactive conference table are equipped with touchscreens. A seven-meter-wide glass display at the end serves as a projection surface for various solutions, data analyses, or individual content, supporting data-driven strategic planning in an entirely new way. The display is interactive, enabling users to edit content by touch. This innovative collaboration between SAP and TSG Hoffenheim underscores the club’s role as a technological pioneer and makes yet another contribution towards its success in the world of professional soccer.

A second highlight among the digital innovations at TSG Hoffenheim is the Helix Arena. The trailblazing training device consists of a panoramic movie screen six meters in diameter in which the players must solve various challenges using a controller. The goal of the digital training programs is to increase the speed of the players’ decision-making. The Helix Arena supports this with basic training programs and a futuristic game simulator in which players can practice exactly the movements they need to triumph on the field. To achieve this inside the 360-degree movie screen, they need to not only focus on what is happening in front of them, but also be aware of what is going on behind them – just like in an actual match.

For example, one of the five different training programs is a multiple object challenge in which lots of robotic figures in two different colors are running around randomly. The challenge for the player is to follow two specific figures that are identical to all the others until the end of the game. This requires intense concentration, not least because the figures move faster with each new level. The increasing speed is meant to bring players to their individual limit and to simulate the level of constant awareness that is crucial on the field when playing soccer at the highest level.

The main program, called Neo360, transforms the Helix Arena into a top-class gaming hall. The wall projections are 3D, and VR technology ensures extraordinary image depth. The player must pass the disc-shaped gaming device to their fellow players using the controller. The catch: the teammates are in motion and partially blocked by opposing players, making a successful pass possible for only a very short moment. The player is notified of whether the passes arrive or get intercepted through an impressive sound backdrop. Gamers use the term “immersive” for such all-encompassing virtual experiences. Neo360 completely immerses players to achieve the best training effects possible.

As an Official Business Team Partner and a brand with state-of-the-art products, RIAL considers TSG Hoffenheim’s role as a technological pioneer in professional soccer a particularly exciting and innovative aspect of our collaboration.

Die TSG Hoffenheim als technologischer Vorreiter

Vorreiter bei digitalen Technologien

Technik ist entscheidend – das verbindet die Profis der TSG Hoffenheim mit hochwertigen Leichtmetallrädern der Marke RIAL, die den Bundesligaklub seit der laufenden Saison 2019/2020 als „Offizieller Business Team Partner“ unterstützt. Wobei dieser Text nicht die elegante Ballbehandlung der fußballerischen Filigrantechniker aus dem Kraichgau beschreibt, sondern mit dem SAP Interactive Data Space und der Helix Arena zwei besonders spannende digitale Technologien des Hoffenheimer Fußballprojekts.

Im SAP Interactive Data Space auf dem Trainingsgelände der TSG in Zuzenhausen fließen sämtliche sportlich und geschäftlich relevanten Daten der TSG Hoffenheim zusammen – und können in einem einzigartigen Kollaborationsraum von der Geschäftsführung, Trainern und Spielern umgehend analysiert werden. Die 16 Sitzplätze des interaktiven Besprechungstischs sind mit Touchscreens ausgestattet. Ein sieben Meter breites Glasdisplay an der Stirnseite dient als Projektionsfläche für unterschiedliche Lösungen, Datenanalysen oder individuelle Inhalte und unterstützt die datenbasierte Strategieplanung auf eine völlig neue Art und Weise. Das Display ist interaktiv und erlaubt es, Inhalte per Berührung zu bearbeiten. Das gemeinsame Innovationsprojekt von SAP und der TSG Hoffenheim unterstreicht die technologische Vorreiterrolle des Clubs und leistet einen weiteren Beitrag zum Erfolg im Profigeschäft.

Ein zweites Highlight unter den digitalen Innovationen der TSG Hoffenheim ist die Helix Arena. Das wegweisende Trainingsgerät besteht aus einem Rundum-Kino mit sechs Meter Durchmesser, in dem die Spieler über einen Controller verschieden Aufgaben lösen müssen. Die digitalen Trainingsprogramme haben das Ziel, die Entscheidungsfindung der Spieler schneller zu machen. Dazu bietet die Helix Arena Basistrainingsprogramme und eine futuristische Spielsituationen, in der die Spieler genau das trainieren können, worauf es im Spielsport ankommt. Dazu müssen sie – wie auf dem echten Spielfeld – im 360-Grad-Kino nicht nur das im Blick haben, was vor ihnen geschieht, sondern auch darauf achten, was sich hinter ihnen abspielt.

Eines der fünf verschiedene Trainingsprogramme ist beispielsweise die Multiple Object Challenge, bei der viele roboterartige Figuren in zwei verschiedenen Farben kreuz und quer laufen. Die Aufgabe an die Spieler lautet, zwei vorher bestimmte Figuren, die sich farblich nicht von den anderen unterscheiden, bis zum Spielende zu verfolgen. Das erfordert höchste Konzentration, umso mehr, wenn die Figuren sich auf jedem neuen Level noch schneller bewegen. Das Ziel der Temposteigerung ist es, die Spieler an ihr individuelles Limit zu bringen und zu simulieren, wie auch in einem echten Fußballspiel auf Topniveau permanent die Aufmerksamkeit hochgehalten werden muss.

Das Top-Programm heißt Neo360, mit ihm wird die Helix Arena zu einer Gaming Halle der Extraklasse. Die Projektion auf die Wände erfolgt in 3D, VR-Technologie sorgt für eine erstaunliche Tiefe der Bilder. Der Spieler muss das diskusförmige Spielgerät mit dem Controller zu seinen Mitspielern passen. Das Problem: Die Mitspieler sind in Bewegung und von Gegenspielern abgeschirmt, nur für sehr kurze Momente ist ein Anspiel möglich. Die Rückmeldung, ob die Pässe ankommen oder der Gegner sie abfängt, erreicht die Spieler sofort über eine eindrucksvolle Soundkulisse. Die Gamer-Szene spricht von „immersiv“, wenn man ganz in das künstliche Geschehen eintaucht. Diesen Effekt macht sich Neo360 zunutze, um bei den Spielern starke Trainingseffekte zu erzielen.

Als „Offizieller Business Team Partner“ und Marke mit technologisch führenden Produkten ist für RIAL die technologische Vorreiterrolle der TSG Hoffenheim im Profifußball ein besonders spannender und innovativer Aspekt der Zusammenarbeit.