TSG Hoffenheim: Practice under Special (Corona) Circumstances

Hoffenheim Players Motivated As Ever: Fit for Day X

Match operations in the Bundesliga may still be on hold due to the coronavirus pandemic, but professional teams have been allowed to practice again since the beginning of April. The Bundesliga team TSG Hoffenheim, which RIAL is sponsoring as an Official Business Team Partner starting in the current 2019-20 Bundesliga season, began holding group practice again with special protective measures on April 6. What does this mean for the players and coaches? How are they preparing for Day X, when it’s finally time to take to the field again? Our RIAL blog obtained an exclusive look at the club’s practices under these special circumstances.

In the two weeks prior to April 6, the players were only allowed to train at home while complying with all hygiene and safety guidelines. Alexander Wahler, Head of Sponsoring & Sales at TSG Hoffenheim, explains: “The coaches and players communicated via video chat and by telephone during this time to always keep each other up to date. But there were no motivational difficulties to address – for players who have been able to make their favorite hobby their profession, the urge to move is so strong that they remain fully motivated even under difficult circumstances.” In their individual practices, the players mainly did lots of ball work, running, and weight training.

Nonetheless, the lack of group contact can be burdensome, particularly for team athletes. “To avoid any negative effect on the team spirit, TSG held group practices via video conference,” said Alexander Wahler. And mental training – already important during normal times – became even more vital. For one thing, it makes it easier to cope with the psychologically challenging situation. For another, it can help minimize negative effects caused by the lack of practice – in a similar manner to the rehabilitation phase after an injury. Mental training is better than no training at all.

Since April 6, the professional players of TSG Hoffenheim have been allowed to practice on the field again under certain regulations. “Practice is organized in shifts across the whole day and takes place in small groups of up to four players plus coaches. Tackling is prohibited,” explains Alexander Wahler. TSG Hoffenheim is preparing to jump straight back in as soon as the break is over. The players will need to be “soccer fit” to stay healthy during this intense phase. To ensure this, the small-group practices intensely train soccer-specific sequences: short, quick actions in rapid succession, running at various speeds (walking, jogging, sprinting, decelerating, taking off) and changing directions, all interspersed with power training.

The players agree on one thing: when Day X arrives, they need to be as well-prepared as possible. Physically and mentally. Speaking for his teammates, midfielder Sebastian Rudy puts it this way: “Practicing in small groups is fun and very vigorous, but we definitely miss being able to tackle. All of us can hardly wait to stand on the field as a team again!”

TSG Hoffenheim: Training unter besonderen (Corona-)Umständen

Hoffenheim-Profis hochmotiviert: Fit für den Tag X

Noch ruht der Spielbetrieb in der Fußball-Bundesliga wegen der Corona-Pandemie, aber die Profiteams dürfen seit Anfang April wieder trainieren. Am 6. April hat das Bundesligateam der TSG Hoffenheim, das RIAL seit der laufenden Bundesligasaison 2019/2020 als „Offizieller Business Team Partner“ unterstützt, das gemeinsame Training unter besonderen Schutzmaßnahmen wieder aufgenommen. Was bedeutet das für Spieler und Trainer? Wie bereiten sie sich auf den Tag X vor, wenn es wieder heißt, „entscheidend is auf’m Platz“? Für unseren RIAL Blog gab es einen exklusiven Einblick in das Training unter besonderen Umständen.

In den zwei Wochen vor dem 6. April durften die Spieler nur zu Hause und unter Einhaltung aller Leitlinien für Hygiene und Sicherheit trainieren. Alexander Wahler, Leiter Sponsoring & Vertrieb bei der TSG Hoffenheim, erläutert: „Trainer und Spieler haben in dieser Zeit per Video-Chat und Telefon kommuniziert, um sich immer auf dem Laufenden zu halten. Motivationsschwierigkeiten gab es aber nicht zu besprechen – für die Sportler, die ihr größtes Hobby zum Beruf machen konnten, ist der Drang nach Bewegung so stark ausgeprägt, dass sie auch unter schwierigeren Umständen voll motiviert sind.“ Im Einzeltraining haben die Spieler vor allem viel mit dem Ball gearbeitet, sind gelaufen und haben im Kraftraum trainiert.

Allerdings kann gerade für Mannschaftssportler der mangelnde Kontakt zum Team belastend sein. „Um zu vermeiden, dass die Gemeinschaft auf der Strecke bleibt, hat die TSG gemeinsam per Videokonferenz trainiert“, sagt Alexander Wahler. Und auch das mentale Training – schon in normalen Zeiten wichtig – gewinnt noch stärker an Bedeutung. Es hilft einerseits, die psychisch belastende Situation leichter zu bewältigen. Andererseits kann es helfen, die Folgen des Trainingsverlusts zu minimieren – ähnlich wie in einer Rehabilitationsphase nach einer Verletzung. Mentales Training ist besser als überhaupt kein Training.

Seit dem 6. April dürfen die Profis der TSG Hoffenheim unter bestimmten Regeln wieder auf dem Platz trainieren. „Das Training ist in Schichten über den ganzen Tag organisiert und findet in Kleingruppen von höchsten vier Spielern plus Trainer statt. Zweikämpfe sind untersagt“, erklärt Alexander Wahler. Die TSG Hoffenheim bereitet sich darauf vor, dass es nach der Pause von null auf hundert in vielen englischen Wochen weitergeht. Dann müssen die Spieler „fußballfit“ sein, um gesund durch diese intensive Phase zu kommen. Daher werden im Training in Kleingruppen fußballspezifische Abläufe intensiviert: kurze und schnelle, eng aufeinander folgende Aktionen, Laufen in verschiedenen Geschwindigkeiten, also gehen, joggen, sprinten, bremsen, starten, Richtungswechsel und dazwischen geschaltete Kraftübungen.

Die Spieler sind sich einig: Wenn der Tag X kommt, müssen wir top vorbereitet sein. Körperlich und mental. Stellvertretend für die Profis formuliert es Mittelfeldspieler Sebastian Rudy so: „Das Training in Kleingruppen macht Spaß, ist auch sehr intensiv, aber die Zweikämpfe fehlen schon. Wir alle können es kaum abwarten, als Mannschaft wieder auf dem Platz zu stehen!“