Buying Used Wheels

Closely Inspect Used Alloy Wheels

Buying used alloy wheels involves many of the same considerations as purchasing brand-new ones – but there are a few special issues that must absolutely be taken into account.

As with new alloy wheels, potential buyers need to be sure that the desired model is compatible with their vehicle. The width and diameter must correspond with the specifications in the vehicle registration certificate, along with the bolt circle and the number of screws. The wheel rim must additionally have a general operating permit (ABE) from the manufacturer confirming not only that it fits, but also that it is approved for the vehicle with regard to the load capacity, for instance.

The difference between brand-new wheel rims and used alloy wheels is, logically, that used ones have already been on the road for some time. What does this mean for customers? That they should always exercise caution. Customers must be very careful when making a purchase and should closely inspect the wheels on offer for external abnormalities. Indeed, even small defects can already make the wheel rims unusable.

Since wheel rims are lightly damaged through ordinary use, surface scratch marks are normal and harmless up to a certain point. Should you notice deep notches and dents from curb contact, however, then a purchase is not advisable. An exterior that looks too good is also a warning signal, though. If used wheel rims shine as if they are brand-new, this can be an indication that they have been treated to cover up possible defects – particularly since repair kits make it very easy to cover up damage on aluminum wheel rims. The alloy wheel may have irreparable material defects such as hairline cracks that can lead to a rim breaking on the road. In general, wheel rim repairs are legally permitted only within very narrow boundaries and must not affect the load-bearing structure of the wheel under any circumstances.

One thing is for sure: purchasing used alloy wheels is only a great deal if the goods deliver what they promise. Otherwise, the customer has made an expensive bad buy – and brand-new wheel rims would have been the better choice.

Kauf von Gebrauchträdern

Bei gebrauchten Leichtmetallrädern genau schauen

Beim Kauf von gebrauchten Leichtmetallrädern ist vieles ähnlich wie bei der Anschaffung von fabrikneuen Exemplaren – aber es gibt auch einige Besonderheiten, die es unbedingt zu beachten gilt.

Wie auch bei fabrikneuen Leichtmetallrädern müssen sich die Interessenten sicher sein, dass das gewünschte Modell zu ihrem Fahrzeug passt. Breite und Durchmesser müssen mit den Informationen im Kfz-Schein übereinstimmen, ebenso der Lochkreis und die Zahl der Schrauben. Zudem muss die Felge von Seiten des Herstellers eine Allgemeine Betriebserlaubnis (ABE) besitzen, die bestätigt, dass sie nicht nur passt, sondern beispielsweise in Sachen Traglast für das Fahrzeug zugelassen ist.

Der Unterschied zwischen nagelneuer Felgenware und gebrauchten Leichtmetallrädern besteht – logischerweise – darin, dass die Gebrauchten schon eine gewisse Zeit im Einsatz waren. Doch was bedeutet das für die Kunden? Grundsätzlich ist Vorsicht geboten. Sie müssen beim Kauf sehr aufmerksam sein und sollten die angebotenen Räder kritisch auf äußerliche Auffälligkeiten prüfen. Denn schon kleine Schäden können die Felgen gebrauchsunfähig machen.

Da Felgen im normalen Gebrauch leicht beschädigt werden, sind oberflächliche Kratzspuren bis zu einem gewissen Grad üblich und unbedenklich. Sollten Ihnen jedoch starke Kerben und Dellen von Bordsteinberührungen auffallen, ist ein Kauf nicht empfehlenswert. Ein zu gutes Äußeres ist allerdings auch ein Warnsignal: Wenn die gebrauchten Felgen fabrikneu glänzen, ist dies ein Anzeichen dafür, dass die Aufbereitung mögliche Mängel überdecken soll. Umso mehr, als sich mithilfe von Reparaturkits Beschädigungen an Alufelgen sehr leicht verbergen lassen. Das Leichtmetallrad kann irreparable Materialschäden wie Haarrisse besitzen, die zu einem Felgenbruch führen können. Generell ist die Felgenreparatur nur in ganz engen Grenzen gesetzlich zulässig und darf auf keinen Fall in die tragende Struktur des Rades eingreifen.

Es bleibt dabei: Der Kauf von gebrauchten Leichtmetallrädern ist nur dann wirklich ein Schnäppchen, wenn die Ware hält, was sie verspricht. Im anderen Fall handelt es sich um einen teuren Fehlkauf – und fabrikneue Felgen wären die bessere Wahl gewesen.