TSG History + RIAL

Dizzying Rise to the Top

If there is one perfect example of a team successfully racing to the top of the Bundesliga, it has to be TSG Hoffenheim. The soccer team has been promoted to a higher league seven times since 1990 and is playing in the Bundesliga since the 2008-09 season. Great expertise and full dedication from everyone involved – the qualities that have led to TSG Hoffenheim’s success over the past decades are also crucial to the RIAL brand, which has been associated with the club as an Official Business Team Partner starting in the current 2019-20 Bundesliga season. For over 40 years, RIAL is manufacturing high-quality alloy wheels and is playing in the top league with its competitors.

The RIAL blog now takes a look at the exciting story of TSG Hoffenheim’s rise to the top, which all began with a failure. With its defeat in the relegation match in Elsenz after the 1989-90 season, Hoffenheim descended to the Kreisklasse A district class. But the bad showing would also serve as a turning point – after attending the game, SAP founder Dietmar Hopp decided to support his hometown team on its path out of the lower rungs of German soccer.

The first years of this partnership brought one victory after another. From 1990 to 1996, TSG Hoffenheim managed to ascend from its local amateur league to the higher Landesliga and on into the higher Verbandsliga. By 1999 the shift was visible on the ground in the town of Hoffenheim. Patron Dietmar Hopp had sponsored a new clubhouse for TSG complete with a sports complex and, most noticeably, a new stadium, which would later be named after him.

All these developments would pay off in spades. TSG Hoffenheim ascended to the Oberliga at the end of the 1999-2000 season. It would not stay in this league for long with new coach Hansi Flick though. After securing their second championship title in a row in 2001, the TSG soccer team ascended once more into the Regionalliga, the fourth tier of German soccer.

They would play in the Regionalliga for the next six years. It was during this phase that TSG, just a regional league team from the Kraichgau region, caused a soccer sensation when they ejected Bundesliga team Bayer 04 Leverkusen from the German Cup round of 16 in December 2003, giving TSG fans their biggest Christmas present in advance. The club went on to open a modern training center in Hoffenheim and fully professionalize its team in 2004.

Hoffenheim ushered in a new era in June 2006: head coach Ralf Rangnick brought new leadership to the team, and former national hockey team coach Bernhard Peters joined the sporting management team. At the end of the season in 2007, TSG achieved its long-awaited promotion to the second Bundesliga, where it would dominate once again. After seven victories in the second half of the season, TSG 1899 Hoffenheim rose into the highest division of German soccer, the first Bundesliga, in 2008.

The Kraichgauer team kicked things off with a remarkable showing in the first half of their first Bundesliga season. As the PreZero Arena in Sinsheim and the team’s training center in Zuzenhausen were still under construction at this point, Hoffenheim played its home matches at Carl-Benz-Stadion in Mannheim. TSG subsequently suffered from injury-related problems but still ended its first Bundesliga season with a strong seventh-place finish.

The following years saw Hoffenheim hover in the mid-range of the Bundesliga table, with a particularly turbulent and nail-biting phase in the 2012-13 season. A total of four coaches struggled to carry the team, with head coach Markus Gisdol barely managing to prevent the seemingly inevitable automatic relegation with a spectacular victory in Dortmund. Hoffenheim defended its place in the Bundesliga with two more victories in the relegation playoff round against Kaiserslautern.

Then came the years when TSG became synonymous with spectacular soccer – great matches and high goal counts. Hoffenheim scored 72 goals in the 2013-14 season, and finished the 2014-15 season in eighth place. In 2016, the team once again successfully avoided relegation, and would rise to play at an entirely new level in the following season – under the leadership of young coach Julian Nagelsmann, Hoffenheim secured a place in the Champions League playoffs, competing internationally for the first time.

Das The 2017-18 season saw the greatest success in the club’s history thus far. With its third-place finish in the Bundesliga season, TSG Hoffenheim secured a spot in the Champions League.

RIAL is excited to follow the future trajectory of TSG Hoffenheim as an Official Business Team Partner and is proud to play a part in writing the next chapter of the club’s remarkable success story.

Historie TSG plus RIAL

Rasanter Aufstieg in die Spitze

Wenn es ein Musterbeispiel in der Bundesliga für einen erfolgreichen Durchmarsch an die Spitze gibt, ist es die TSG Hoffenheim. Die Fußballer sind seit 1990 sieben Mal aufgestiegen und spielen seit der Saison 2008/2009 in der Bundesliga. Hohe Kompetenz und voller Einsatz bei allen Beteiligten – was die TSG Hoffenheim in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten stark gemacht hat, prägt auch die Marke RIAL, die dem Bundesligaklub seit der laufenden Saison 2019/2020 als „Offizieller Business Team Partner“ verbunden ist. RIAL stellt seit über 40 Jahren qualitativ hochwertige Leichtmetallräder her und spielt auf dem Markt seit langem in der ersten Liga des Wettbewerbs.

Für den RIAL Blog werfen wir einen Blick auf die spannende Aufstiegshistorie der TSG Hoffenheim, die mit einem Misserfolg beginnt. Das Relegationsspiel nach der Saison 1989/1990 in Elsenz geht verloren, Hoffenheim steigt in die Kreisklasse A ab. Aus dem negativen Erlebnis wird aber zugleich ein Wendpunkt: SAP-Gründer Dietmar Hopp besucht das Spiel und entscheidet sich anschließend, seinen Heimatverein auf dem Weg aus den Niederungen des Fußballs zu unterstützen.

In den ersten Jahren geht es Schlag auf Schlag: Die TSG Hoffenheim schafft es zwischen 1990 und 1996 von der Bezirksliga über die Landesliga bis in die Verbandsliga. Im Jahr 1999 ist die Veränderung dann auch im Hoffenheimer Ortsbild zu sehen. Gönner Dietmar Hopp lässt für die TSG ein vereinseigenes Klubhaus mit Sportanlage und vor allem das – später nach ihm benannte – Stadion errichten. In den ersten Jahren geht es Schlag auf Schlag: Die TSG Hoffenheim schafft es zwischen 1990 und 1996 von der Bezirksliga über die Landesliga bis in die Verbandsliga. Im Jahr 1999 ist die Veränderung dann auch im Hoffenheimer Ortsbild zu sehen. Gönner Dietmar Hopp lässt für die TSG ein vereinseigenes Klubhaus mit Sportanlage und vor allem das – später nach ihm benannte – Stadion errichten.

Der Erfolg dieser Aktivitäten bleibt nicht aus: Am Ende der Saison 1999/2000 steigt die TSG Hoffenheim in die Oberliga auf. Unter dem neuen Trainer Hansi Flick bleibt die Oberliga nur Zwischenstation. Mit dem zweiten Meistertitel hintereinander steigen die TSG-Fußballer bereits 2001 in die Regionalliga auf.

Die Regionalliga sollte für die nächsten sechs Jahre die Heimat der TSG Hoffenheim sein. In diese Zeit fällt die Pokalsensation, als der Regionalligist aus dem Kraichgau im Dezember 2003 seinen Fans das größte Weihnachtsgeschenk schon vorab macht und den Bundesligisten Bayer 04 Leverkusen im Achtelfinale aus dem DFB-Pokal wirft. Zudem stellt der Verein 2004 sein modernes Trainingszentrum in Hoffenheim fertig und führt das Voll-Profitum ein.

Im Juni 2006 beginnt in Hoffenheim eine neue Ära: Cheftrainer Ralf Rangnick übernimmt die Verantwortung für die Mannschaft, der frühere Hockeynationaltrainer Bernhard Peters verstärkt die sportliche Leitung. Am Ende der Saison 2007 steht der ersehnte Aufstieg in die zweite Bundesliga – und es wird wieder ein Durchmarsch. Nach sieben Siegen in der Rückrunde steigt die TSG 1899 Hoffenheim 2008 in die Bundesliga auf.

Gleich in der ersten Saison schaffen die Kraichgauer mit der Herbstmeisterschaft erstaunliches. Die heutige Pre Zero Arena in Sinsheim ist zu dem Zeitpunkt wie das Trainingszentrum in Zuzenhausen noch im Bau, Hoffenheim spielt seine Heimspiele im Mannheimer Carl-Benz-Stadion. In der Rückrunde leidet das Team unter Verletzungsproblemen, wird aber am Ende der ersten Bundesligasaison starker Siebter.

In den folgenden Jahren ist Hoffenheim auf mittlere Tabellenplätze gebucht, turbulent und kritisch wird die Lage in der Saison 2012/2013: Insgesamt vier Trainer mühen sich mit dem Team, am Ende vermeidet Markus Gisdol mit einem spektakulären Sieg in Dortmund den fast schon besiegelten Abstieg und mit zwei Siegen in der Relegation gegen Kaiserslautern halten die Spieler die Klasse.

Es beginnen die Jahre, in denen Hoffenheim für Spektakelfußball steht – tolle Spiele mit vielen Toren. In der Saison 2013/2014 macht Hoffenheim 72 Tore, 2014/2015 folgt der achte Tabellenplatz. Im Jahr 2016 geht es dann wieder erfolgreich gegen den Abstieg, um in der folgenden Saison auf einem ganz neuen Niveau zu spielen: Unter dem jungen Trainer Julian Nagelsmann sichert sich das Team einen Platz in den Champions-League-Playoffs und spielt damit erstmals international.

Das Jahr 2017/2018 bringt den bisher größten Erfolg der Vereinsgeschichte. Als Dritter der Bundesligasaison zieht die TSG Hoffenheim direkt in die Champions League ein.

Als „Offizieller Business Team Partner“ verfolgt RIAL gespannt den weiteren Weg der TSG Hoffenheim und freut sich, mit seiner Unterstützung dazu beizutragen, dass die eindrucksvolle Erfolgsgeschichte fortgeschrieben werden kann.