Wheel Offset

Things to Know about Wheel Offset

The wheel offset (abbreviated as ET, from the German term Einpresstiefe) determines the position of the wheel within the wheel well. The ET is thus one of the factors influencing your vehicle’s axle track. This makes it a good place to start if you’re thinking of converting your vehicle to a sportier, wider track. You should be aware, however, that a wider track will only improve road holding to a limited extent. Too wide a track will result in both increased wear and a decline in handling characteristics due to stress on the axles and steering system.

The ET is defined as the distance from the centerline of the wheel to the inner contact surface of the wheel flange. The flange is where the wheel rim touches the chassis, where the brake disc and brake drum are mounted. The rim designation contains the ET in millimeters. For example, a wheel rim with the designation 8 J x 18 H2 ET35 LK 5×120 has an ET of 35 millimeters. In addition to ET, the rim designation may also use the term “offset” or the abbreviation IS.
If this information is missing and you do not have the vehicle papers, you can easily calculate the ET. Start by finding the centerline of the wheel rim based on its width. Then, inside the rim, measure the distance between the flange and the outer edge and subtract the resulting number from the value of the centerline. The ET may have a positive or negative value, or even be zero. The latter is the case when the centerline corresponds precisely to where the flange meets the wheel hub. A positive ET indicates that the contact surface of the wheel is shifted outward in relation to the centerline and that the wheel sits lower. A negative ET means that the wheel does not sit as low.

Modifying the ET changes the geometry of the steering axle, which will have an effect on the driving comfort. Manufacturers provide ET values for every vehicle; you can find these in the general operating permit or in a part certificate from a technical inspection association (TÜV). Vehicle owners who do not comply with these values represent a danger on the road and are subject to prosecution.

Too large an ET with the same rim width can lead to the inner wheel edge grinding against the wheel well. This can be avoided with relative ease by using spacer discs and longer screws on all four wheels. If the ET is too small, the outer wheel edge may grind against the wheel well. The only solution to this problem is wider fenders.

In any case, you should always compare the dimensions of new wheel rims with the relevant specifications provided by the vehicle manufacturer. If these values deviate from each other, you will have to seek approval from a TÜV – but this inconvenience will be more than worth it once you are legally on the road with the wheel rims of your dreams!

Einpresstiefe

Wissenswertes zur Einpresstiefe

Die Einpresstiefe (ET) der Felge bestimmt die Position der Räder im Radkasten. Somit ist die ET mit anderen Faktoren auch für die Spurbreite Ihres Fahrzeugs verantwortlich. Wenn Sie also daran denken, Ihr Fahrzeug auf eine sportlichere, etwas breitere Spur zu bringen, können Sie hier ansetzen. Dabei sollten Sie wissen, dass sich die Straßenlage bei einer breiteren Spur nur bis zu einem gewissen Maß verbessert. Mit einer zu großen Spurbreite verschlechtern sich wegen der Kräfte auf Achsen und Lenkung die Fahreigenschaften und der Verschleiß steigt.

Definiert ist die ET als Abstand zwischen der Felgenmitte und der inneren Auflagefläche des Radflansches. Mit dem Radflansch berührt die Felge das Fahrwerk, dort sind Bremsscheibe und Bremstrommel montiert. Der Felgenbezeichnung ist die ET in Millimetern zu entnehmen. Beispielsweise hat eine Felge mit der Bezeichnung 8 J x 18 H2 ET35 LK 5×120 eine ET von 35 Millimetern. Außer ET können in der Felgenbezeichnung auch die englischen Bezeichnungen Offset oder IS vorkommen.

Sollte die Angabe fehlen und Sie keine Papiere zur Hand haben, ist die ET einfach zu messen: Aus der Felgenbreite ermitteln Sie die Felgenmitte. Dann messen Sie im Innern der Felge den Abstand Flansch–Außenkante und ziehen dieses Messergebnis vom Wert der Felgenmitte ab. Die ET kann dabei positive oder negative Werte annehmen – oder Null betragen. Letzteres ist der Fall, wenn die Felgenmitte genau mit dem Kontakt von Radflansch und Radnabe zusammenfällt. Eine positive ET bedeutet, dass die Auflagefläche gegenüber der Felgenmitte nach außen verschoben ist und die Felge tiefer sitzt. Eine negative ET heißt, dass die Felge weniger tief sitzt.

Wer die ET modifiziert, verändert die Geometrie der Lenkachse und damit den Fahrkomfort. Für jedes Fahrzeug gibt der Hersteller Werte für die ET vor, die in der Allgemeinen Betriebserlaubnis oder einem Teilegutachten des TÜV beschrieben sind. Fahrzeugführer, die sich nicht daran halten, können zur Gefahr im Straßenverkehr werden und machen sich strafbar.

Bei gleicher Felgenbreite besteht bei zu großer ET das Problem, dass das Rad innen am Radkasten schleifen kann. Abhilfe schaffen Sie vergleichsweise einfach durch Distanzscheiben und entsprechend verlängerte Schrauben an allen vier Rädern. Bei zu geringer ET kann das Rad außen am Radkasten schleifen. Dieses Problem können Sie nur durch breitere Kotflügel beheben.

Unabhängig davon gilt, dass Sie die Größenangaben neuer Felgen immer mit den Vorgaben des Fahrzeugherstellers abgleichen sollten. Und bei abweichenden Werten kommen Sie um eine Abnahme durch den TÜV nicht herum – aber das lässt sich ja verschmerzen, wenn man anschließend legal und vor allem mit seinen Traumfelgen unterwegs ist!