Composition of a Wheel Rim

More than a Rim: How a Wheel Is Structured

Accelerating and braking, fast curves or a pointed curb – driving places heavy mechanical demands on the wheel. Not to mention the heat stress resulting from friction and braking. A wheel must be engineered to withstand all of these strains. Modern wheels represent the state of the art and carry in them the professional expertise of many generations of engineers. Their design is fine-tuned to meet all the demands of driving while also having additional safety features.

Rim or Wheel? Don’t worry: this blog isn’t here to dissect linguistic subtleties, but to deliver some technical background information. One thing is important to clear up from the start, though. When people casually talk about aluminum rims, they are typically referring to an aluminum wheel with a rim, spokes, and a connection face with a bolt ring and bolt circle. And experts refer to the combination of wheel and tire as a complete wheel.

Wheels for passenger cars are almost always produced in one piece these days. With this in mind, it isn’t very important whether you colloquially say “rim” or use the more technically correct “wheel”. Wheels used to consist of several parts that weren’t permanently attached to each other, which meant that you could screw them apart and, for example, change the rim along with the tire.

As explained above, a wheel consists of a rim, spokes, and a connection face. The design of these parts involves several construction types and terms that are important to note when selecting the perfect wheel – here’s an overview:

Rim flange
The flange is the rim’s external ridge, which is curved out slightly like a horn (in German, it is called the rim “horn”). The rim flange is standardized as laid out in the DIN 7817 standard. Its design variations carry the letters J, H, P, K, and JK; J is the most common variation for passenger cars. The rim flange is the first site of damage when a wheel is driven over a curb too forcefully.

Rim well
Between the rim flanges is the rim well, which is seen almost exclusively in the drop center variety today.

 

 

Bead seat
The bead seat connects to the outer rim flange. This is where the tire sits.

Rim diameter and rim width
Significant for wheel sizing are the rim diameter and rim width, which are both measured in inches. The rim diameter is the distance between the bead seats. The rim width is the distance between the rim flanges and corresponds to the inner diameter of the suitable tires.

Hump
The contour of the rim is commonly referred to as the hump. It ensures that the tire sits firmly on the bead seat even when driving into sharp curves.

Wheel offset
Wheel offset refers to the distance from the wheel’s inner contact surface to the middle of the rim. It determines the vehicle’s axle track and can have positive or negative values.

 

Bolt circle
All the bolt holes of a wheel are located on the bolt circle. Its dimensions, as well as the size and number of wheel bolts, vary according to vehicle type. The wheel bolts fasten the wheel to the axle hub – turning the wheel into an integral component of the overall vehicle system.

Aufbau einer Felge

Mehr als eine Felge: So ist ein Rad aufgebaut

Heutzutage sind Räder bei PKW fast immer einteilig produziert. Deshalb spielt es keine entscheidende Rolle, ob man umgangssprachlich Felge oder technisch korrekt Rad sagt. Früher entstanden Räder meist aus mehreren Teilen, die nicht dauerhaft verbunden waren und die man auseinanderschrauben konnte, um beispielsweise die Felge gemeinsam mit dem Reifen zu wechseln.

Anfahren und Abbremsen, schnelle Kurvenfahrten oder ein scharfer Bordstein – beim Fahren ist das Rad mechanisch stark gefordert. Hinzu kommen Wärmebelastungen, die durch Reibung und beim Bremsen entstehen. Ein Rad muss konstruktiv darauf ausgelegt sein, all diese Belastungen zu verkraften. Moderne Räder repräsentieren den neuesten Stand der Technik und tragen das professionelle Wissen vieler Generationen von Konstrukteuren in sich. Ihr Aufbau ist dazu bestimmt, alle Anforderungen des Fahrens zu erfüllen und sie besitzen dabei noch Sicherheitsreserven.

Felge oder Rad? Keine Sorge, dieser Blog soll keine sprachlichen Spitzfindigkeiten beschreiben, sondern technische Hintergründe liefern. Eines aber ist zum Verständnis wichtig: Wenn man umgangssprachlich Alufelge sagt, ist eigentlich ein Alurad mit Felge, Speichen sowie der Radanschlussfläche mit Lochkranz und Lochkreis gemeint. Und bei der Kombination aus Rad und Reifen sprechen Experten von einem Komplettrad.

Wie schon erläutert, besteht ein Rad aus den Teilen Felge, Speichen und Radanschlussfläche. Beim Design der Teile gibt es einige Bauarten und Bezeichnungen, die für die Auswahl des Wunschrads wichtig sind – ein Überblick:

Felgenhorn
Der Name sagt es – der äußere Rand der Felge ist wie ein Horn geformt und heißt deshalb Felgenhorn. Es ist nach DIN 7817 genormt und seine Ausführungen sind mit den Buchstaben J, H, P, K, JK versehen; J ist bei PKW am weitesten verbreitet. Das Felgenhorn ist der erste Leidtragende, wenn ein Rad zu energisch über einen Bordstein gesteuert wird.

Felgenbett
Zwischen den Felgenhörnern liegt das Felgenbett, heutzutage fast ausschließlich als Tiefbett ausgeführt.

 

 

Felgenschulter
Die Felgenschulter schließt sich an das äußere Felgenhorn an. Auf ihr sitzt der Reifen.

Felgendurchmesser und Maulweite
Wesentlich für die Größe der Felge sind Felgendurchmesser und Maulweite, die beide in Zoll gemessen werden. Der Felgendurchmesser liegt zwischen den Felgenschultern, die Maulweite ist der Abstand zwischen beiden Felgenhörnern und entspricht dem Innendurchmesser passender Reifen.

Hump
Für die Felgenkontur ist das englische Wort Hump (Buckel, Höcker) gebräuchlich. Sie sorgt dafür, dass Reifen auch bei scharfer Kurvenfahrt stabil auf der Felgenschulter sitzen.

Einpresstiefe
Einpresstiefe ist die Bezeichnung für den Abstand der inneren Anlagefläche des Rads bis zur Felgenmitte. Sie bestimmt die Spurbreite des Fahrzeugs und kann negative wie positive Werte annehmen.

 

Lochkreis
Alle Bolzenlöcher eines Rads liegen auf dem Lochkreis. Seine Dimension sowie die Größe und die Zahl der Radschrauben sind je nach Fahrzeugtyp verschieden. Mit den Radschrauben wird das Rad an der Achsnabe festgemacht – und damit zu einem wesentlichen Teil des Fahrzeugs als Gesamtsystem.