ABE vs. ECE

ECE and ABE – Know Your Certificates

Are you considering a new set of wheel rims for your vehicle? Unfortunately, this will require a bit of regulatory know-how. Even the sleekest alloy wheel rims will only work out if qualified personnel have approved them for use on your vehicle. In Germany, a serially produced vehicle is authorized for use on the road by its general operating permit (ABE). The accompanying registration documents list all the approved wheel and tire sizes. Aluminum rims are usually not listed in the vehicle’s ABE.

If you’re interested in alloy wheel rims – and you even already have some potential models picked out – there are a couple ways to determine whether they are approved for your vehicle. The first and most simple option is ECE type approval, or the “E-mark”, from the Economic Commission of Europe. It consists of a large E in a circle and an approval number.

The E-mark indicates that the wheel rim may be operated with the respective vehicle without any further inspections or testing – simply mount the wheel rim with an approved tire and you’re ready to go. Use of an ECE-certified part requires no entry in the vehicle documents. This regulation is valid in all countries participating in the ECE process, including Germany, Austria, and Switzerland.

The second option for wheel rim approval is a special vehicle component ABE. Such an ABE allows the use of aluminum wheel rims without additional review by testing services. However, the technical and legal precondition for this is that the vehicle chassis and brake system be in their original condition.

Manufacturers apply for vehicle component ABEs for various wheel-tire-vehicle combinations, which are issued by a technical inspection association (TÜV) after extensive tests. Vehicle component ABEs are provided with wheel rims upon purchase and are also available to download online. You can find the current certificates for all RIAL wheels here.

Additionally, it is important to always have the vehicle component ABEs on hand in your vehicle. In contrast to ECE certificates, vehicle component ABEs for wheel rims must be carried at all times – failure to comply can result in a €10 fine. Because your safety is at stake, other ABE-related penalties can also be quite steep. Failure to implement the ABE requirements results in a €40 fine and one penalty point on your driver’s license. Driving without a necessary ABE – and therefore without authorization – will bring three penalty points and a €75 fine. So please be sure to keep your ABE up to date and always carry it with you!

ABE vs. ECE

ECE und ABE – Regelkunde muss sein

Haben Sie einen Satz neuer Felgen für Ihr Fahrzeug im Auge? Dann geht es leider nicht ohne ein bisschen Regelkunde. Denn auch bei den schönsten Leichtmetallfelgen muss von fachkundiger Seite genehmigt sein, dass sie an dem jeweiligen Fahrzeug gefahren werden dürfen. Grundsätzlich gestattet die Allgemeine Betriebserlaubnis (ABE) den Betrieb eines serienmäßig hergestellten Kraftfahrzeugs. In den zugehörigen Zulassungspapieren sind alle freigegebenen Rad-und Reifengrößen vermerkt. Alufelgen sind meist nicht in der ABE des Fahrzeugs aufgeführt.

Wer sich für Leichtmetallfelgen interessiert – oder gar schon ein paar Wunschmodelle in der engeren Auswahl hat –, kann auf mehreren Wegen sicherstellen, dass ihr Betrieb erlaubt ist. Die erste und einfachste Variante ist das ECE-Prüfzeichen der Economic Commission of Europe. Es besteht aus einem großen E im Kreis und einer Prüfnummer.

Das ECE-Emblem zeigt an, dass die Felge ohne weitere Prüfungen und Abnahmen mit dem jeweiligen Fahrzeug betrieben werden darf – einfach Felge mit freigegebenen Reifen montieren und losfahren. Ein ECE-zertifiziertes Bauteil darf ohne einen Eintrag in die Fahrzeugpapiere betrieben werden. Die Regelung gilt in allen am ECE-Verfahren teilnehmenden Ländern, zu denen neben Deutschland auch Österreich und die Schweiz gehören.

Die zweite Variante der Betriebserlaubnis von Felgen ist eine gesonderte Fahrzeugteile-ABE. Sie erlaubt die Verwendung von Alufelgen ohne zusätzliche Begutachtung durch Prüfdienste. Technische und rechtliche Voraussetzung ist allerdings, dass sich Fahrwerk und Bremsanlage des Fahrzeuges im Originalzustand befinden.

Die Fahrzeugteile-ABE beantragen die Hersteller für vielfältige Rad-Reifen-Fahrzeug-Kombinationen. Der TÜV erteilt sie nach intensiven Tests. Die Fahrzeugteile-ABEs liegen Felgen beim Neukauf bei und stehen im Internet zum Download bereit. Die aktuellen Gutachten zu allen RIAL Rädern finden Sie hier.

Und es ist wichtig, die Fahrzeugteile-ABE in der Hand beziehungsweise im Fahrzeug zu haben: Im Unterschied zum ECE-Zeichen ist es vorgeschrieben, die zu den Felgen gehörende Fahrzeugteile-ABE immer mitzuführen – ansonsten droht ein Bußgeld von 10 Euro. Weil es um Ihre Sicherheit geht, sind auch andere Sanktionen rund um die Betriebserlaubnis ganz schön happig: Wer etwaige Auflagen einer ABE nicht umsetzt, erhält ein Bußgeld von 40 Euro und einen Punkt in Flensburg. Wer keine ABE besitzt, fährt ohne Zulassung und muss mit drei Punkten sowie 75 Euro Bußgeld rechnen. Denken Sie also bitte daran, die ABE aktuell zu halten und führen Sie sie immer mit!